
ILLINOIS POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
April 21, 2016 

 
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, 
 
 Complainant, 
 
 v. 
 
CROP PRODUCTION SERVICES, 
a Delaware corporation, 
 
 Respondent. 
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) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

 
 
 
 
     PCB 09-60 
     (Enforcement-Water) 

ORDER OF THE BOARD (by C.K. Zalewski): 
 

The People of the State of Illinois allege that Crop Production Services (CPS) caused, 
threatened or allowed water pollution at three agrichemical and fertilizer retail facilities:  one in 
Sinclair, Morgan County; another in White Hall, Greene County; and a third southwest of 
Galesburg and east of Highway 41 in Knox County.  The parties now seek to settle this 
enforcement action without a hearing.  For the reasons below, the Board directs the Clerk to 
provide public notice of the parties’ stipulation, proposed settlement, and request for relief from 
the hearing requirement 

 
In the April 6, 2009 complaint, the People allege that CPS violated Sections 12(a) and 

12(d) of the Act by causing, allowing or threatening the discharge of contaminants to waters of 
the state and depositing contaminants upon the land in such place and manner so as to cause or 
tend to cause water pollution.  415 ILCS 5/12(a), (d) (2014).  On April 5, 2016, the People and 
CPS filed a stipulation and proposed settlement, accompanied by a request for relief from the 
hearing requirement of Section 31(c)(1) of the Act.  415 ILCS 5/31(c)(1) (2014).  This filing is 
authorized by Section 31(c)(2) of the Act which requires that the public have an opportunity to 
request a hearing whenever the State and a respondent propose settling an enforcement action 
without a public hearing.  See 415 ILCS 5/31(c)(2) (2014); 35 Ill. Adm. Code 103.300(a).  Under 
the proposed stipulation, CPS does not affirmatively admit the alleged violations and agrees to 
pay a civil penalty of $76,000. 

 
Unless the Board determines that a hearing is needed, the Board must cause notice of the 

stipulation, proposed settlement, and request for relief from the hearing requirement.  Any person 
may file a written demand for hearing within 21 days after receiving the notice.  If anyone timely 
files a written demand for hearing, the Board will deny the parties’ request for relief and hold a 
hearing.  See 415 ILCS 5/31(c)(2) (2014); 35 Ill. Adm. Code 103.300(b), (c).  The Board directs 
the Clerk to provide the required notice. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 
 

I, John T. Therriault, Clerk of the Illinois Pollution Control Board, certify that the Board 
adopted the above order on April, 21, 2016, by a vote of 5-0. 

___________________________________ 
John T. Therriault, Clerk 
Illinois Pollution Control Board 


	IT IS SO ORDERED.

